feature

Great Southern Wine Region

Southern wine region is made up of five sub-regions, Albany, Denmark, Frankland River, Mount Barker and Porongurup. It is a diverse region with Lake Muir marking its western boundary and the Pallanup River as the eastern boundary. The region's viticultural history may be recent but it has become home to many of the successful and premium wineries and vineyards.

Albany Sub-Region

Albany is the main town in the Great Southern region and makes a perfect home base for exploring the wineries. The area is small but gaining reputation for their Pinot Noir.

Denmark Sub-Region

Denmark is the Great Southern regions newest sub-region, located 59km from Albany. The region produces fine examples of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir.

Frankland River Sub-Region

With four rivers converging on this sub-region the rich soils produce intense wines – crisp Riesling and a rich Cabernet Sauvignon.

Mount Barker Sub-Region

Mount Barker is the oldest sub-region and produces many fine and intense wines. The region is beautiful and well worth a look. Try one of the award winning examples Pinot Noir, Riesling and Shiraz. Other varieties include Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Malbec, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon.

Porongurup Sub-Region

Porongurup is perhaps one of Great Southerns most beautiful regions it also produces beautiful wines including Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Riesling, Semillon, Shiraz and Verdelho.

Wineries
Name Address Phone Web / email
3drops Wragg Road, Mount Barker, WA 6324 0417 172 603 www.3drops.com
Abbey Creek Vineyar 2388 Porongurup Road, Porongurup, WA 6324 08 9853 1044  
Alkoomi Wines 1141 Wingebellup Road, Frankland River, WA 6396 08 9855 2229 www.alkoomiwines.com.au
[email protected]
Capel Vale Wines Lot 5 Stirling Estate, Mallokup Road, Capel, WA 6271 08 9727 1986 www.capelvale.com
[email protected]
Castle Rock Estate PO Box 891, Albany, WA 6331 08 9853 1035 www.castlerockestate.com.au
[email protected]
Chatsfield Wines PO Box 45, Mount Barker, WA 6324 08 9851 1704 www.chatsfield.com.au
[email protected]
Dingo Flast 470 Dingo Flat Road, Hazelvale, WA 6333
Ducketts Mill Wines 1678 Scotsdale Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 9844 www.duckettsmillwines.com.au
[email protected]
Duke's Vineyard RMB 1380 Porongurup RoadMount BarkerWA6324 08 9853 1107 dukesvineyard.com
[email protected]
Feet First Wines 32 Parkinson Lane, Kardinya, WA 6163 08 9314 7133 www.feetfirstwines.com.au
[email protected]
Fernbrook Estate Wines 90 Bolganup dam Road, Porongurup, WA 6324 08 9853 1030  
Ferngrove Ferngrove Road, Frankland, WA 6396 08 9855 2378 www.ferngrove.com.au
Forest Hill Vineyard South Coast Highway, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9848 2199 www.foresthillwines.com.au
[email protected]
Frankland Estate Frankland Road, Frankland, WA 6396 08 9855 1544 www.franklandestate.com.au
[email protected]
Frankland Grange Frankland/Kojonup Road, Frankland, WA 6396 08 9855 2397 www.franklandgrange.com
Galafrey Wines 432 Quangellup Road, Mount Barker, WA 6324 08 9851 2022 www.galafreywines.com.au
Garlands Lot 403 Marmion Street, Mount Barke, WA 6324 08 9851 1657 www.garlandwines.com.au
[email protected]
Gibraltar Rock Wines Woodlands Road, Porongurup, WA 6324 08 9853 1177 www.gibraltarrockwines.com.au
[email protected]ibraltarrockwines.com.au
Gilbert Wines Albany Highway, Kendenup, WA 6323 08 9851 4028 www.gilbertwines.com.au
[email protected]
Goundrey Wines Langton, Muir Highway, Mount Barker, WA 6324 08 9892 1777 www.goundrey.com
[email protected]
Hamlet Vineyard 55 Greatorex Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 8356 www.hamletvineyard.com.au
[email protected]
Harewood Estate 1570 Scotsdale Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 9078 www.harewood.com.au
Howard Park - Denmark Lot 377 Scotsdale Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9848 2345 www.howardparkwines.com.au
[email protected]
Ironwood Estate Wines RMB 1288 Porongurup Road, Porongurup, WA 6324 08 9853 1126  
Jardee Powderbark Ridge, Wingebellup Road, Frankland, WA 6396 08 9855 2223  
Jingalla Wines 49 Bolganup Road, Porongurup, WA 6324 08 9853 1103 www.jingallawines.com.au
[email protected]
Jinnunger 588 Nanarup Road, Lower Kalgan, Albany, WA 6330 08 9846 4374 www.jinnunger.com.au
[email protected]
Kalgan River Wines PO Box 5559, Albany, WA 6332 08 9841 4413 www.kalganriverwines.com.au
[email protected]
Karriview Wines Corner Scotsdale & Roberts Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 9381 www.karriviewwines.com.au
[email protected]
Lake House Denmark 106 Turner Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9848 2444 www.lakehousedenmark.com.au
Latitude 35 South 612 Mt Shadforth Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9848 2081 www.latitude35south.com.au
Mariners Rest Wines Jamakarri Farm, Lot 479 Roberst Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 9324  
Matilda's Winery 18 Hamilton Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9848 1951 www.matildaestate.com
[email protected]
Merrebee Estate St Werburghs Road, Mount Barker, WA 6324 08 9851 2424  
Millinup Estate Wines 2226 Porongurup Road, Porongurup, WA 6324 08 9853 1105 www.millinupestate.ii.net
Montgomery's Hill 45805 South Coast Highway, Kalgan River, WA 6330 08 9844 3715 www.montgomeryshill.com.au
[email protected]
Moombaki Wines 341 Parker Road, Kentdale, WA 6333 08 9840 8006 www.moombaki.com
[email protected]
Mount Hallowell Estate 1683 South Coast Highway, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9848 2315 www.mthallowell.com.au
[email protected]
Mount Trio Vineyard Corner Castle Rock & Porongurup Roads, Porongurup, WA6324 08 9853 1136 www.mounttriowines.com.au
[email protected]
Old Ken River Turpin Road, Rocky Gully, WA 6397 08 9855 1589 www.oldkentriver.com.au
[email protected]
Oranje Tractor Wine 198 Link Road, Albany, WA 6330 08 9842 5175 www.oranjetractor.com
[email protected]
Palandri Wines Corner Bussell Highway & Boundary Road, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9756 5100 www.palandri.com.au
Phillips Brook Estate 118 Redmond / Hay River Road, Albany, WA 6332 08 9845 3124 www.phillipsbrook.com.au
Plantagenet Wines Albany Highway Mount Barker, WA 6324 08 9851 3111 www.plantagenetwines.com
[email protected]
Poacher's Ridge 1630 Spencer Road, Narrikup, WA 6324 08 9387 5003 www.prv.com.au
[email protected]
Rickety Gate Wines 1949 Scotsdale Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 9503 www.ricketygate.com.au
[email protected]
Rokewood Lot 9 Whitworth Road, Mount Barker, WA 6324 08 9851 2650 www.rokewoodwines.com.au
[email protected]
Silverstream Wines 2365 Scotsdale Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 9119 www.silverstreamwines.com
[email protected]
Somerset Hill Wines 540 McLeod Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 9388 www.somersethillwines.com.au
[email protected]
Springviews Wine Woodlands Road, Porongurup, WA 6326 08 9853 2088  
Tingle-Wood Wines 198 Glenrowan Road, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9840 9218 www.tinglewoodwines.com.au
[email protected]
Trappers Gully Wines Lot 6 Boyup Road, Forest Hill, Mount Barker, WA 6324 08 9851 2565 www.trappersgullywines.com
[email protected]
Trevelen Farm Wines Weir Road (off Albany Highway), Cranbrook, WA 6321 08 9826 1052 www.trevelenfarmwines.com.au
[email protected]
Wadjekanup River Estate Killeen', Flatrocks Road, Broomehill, WA 6318 08 9825 3064  
West Cape Howe Wines Lot 42 South Coast Highway, Denmark, WA 6333 08 9848 2949 www.westcapehowewines.com.au
[email protected]
Wignalls Wines 448 Chester Pass Road, Albany, WA 6330 08 9841 2848 www.wignallswines.com.au
[email protected]
Windrush Wines Lot 250 St Werburgh's Road (Corner Hay River Road), Mount Barker, WA 6324 08 9851 1353 www.windrushwines.com.au
[email protected]
Xabregas Wines Spencer Road, Narrikup, WA 6326 0409 532 255 www.xabregas.com.au
[email protected]
Yilgrania 1847 Redmond West Road, Redmond, WA 6327 08 9845 3031 www.yilgarnia.com.au
[email protected]
Zarepahath Wines 424 Moorialup Road, East Prongurup, WA 6324 08 9853 1152 www.zarephathwines.com
[email protected]

More South West Australian Wine Regions

Quick Search