feature

Margaret River Wine Region

Margaret River Wine RegionThe Margaret River wine region is one of Australia's most important nationally and internationally. The region extends along the coast from Cape Naturaliste to Cape Leeuwin with the Margaret River flowing east to west through its centre. It is home to many world class, award winning wineries.

The vines were originally planted by Italian immigrants, Albert Credaro, Jimmy Meleri and Domenic Garuccio, who sorely missed the table wine of the ‘Old Country'. During the 1960s more vines were planted by a group influenced by the findings of agronomist Dr John Gladstones and viticulturalist Professor Harold Olmo.

As the vineyards aged and more wineries were established the region's wines began to gain marvellous credentials winning medals for their creativity. Fame hit the Margaret River when Evans and Tate won for their Shiraz ‘best red in the world' at the 2000 London International Wine Challenge. The region is widely known for its Chardonnay and its red and white Bordeaux style blends.

The region is truly beautiful and one of Western Australia's biggest tourist destinations. There is a number of fantastic cellar doors to choose from, winery restaurants and cafes and a large array of accommodation options.

The region is divided into six sub-regions. Wineries and vineyards are concentrated around the Wilyabrup sub region at the states coast and just south of the Margaret River in Wallcliffe. Other smaller sub-regions include Carbunup, Karridale, Treeton and Yallingup.

Wineries
Name Address Phone Web / email
Adinfern Estate Bussell Highway, Cowaramup, WA 6284 0407 445 020 www.adinfern.com
[email protected]
Allison Valley Wines 362 North Jindong Road, North Jindong, WA 6280 08 9418 8786 www.allisonvalley.com.au
Amarok Estate Caves Road, Wilyabrup, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9756 6888 www.amarok.com.au
Amberley Estate Corner Thornton & Wildwood Roads, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9750 1113 www.amberleyestate.com.au
Anniebrook 247 Wildwood Road, Carbunup River, WA 6280 08 9755 1155 www.anniebrookwineandflowers.com.au
[email protected]
Arlewood Estate Harmans South Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 0413 759 030 www.arlewood.com.au
[email protected]
Ashbrook Estate 379 Harmans Road, Willyabrup, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 6262  
Bare Rooted Blain Road, Rosa Brook, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9384 9764 www.barerooted.com.au
[email protected]
Barwick Estates Yelverton North Road, Yelverton, WA, 6280 08 9755 7100 www.barwickwines.com
[email protected]
Beckett's Flat 49 Beckett Road Metricup, WA 6280 08 9755 7402 www.beckettsflat.com.au
Berry Farm Winery The Berry Farm, Bessell Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 5054 www.berryfarm.com.au
[email protected]
Bettenay Wines Loc. 1685 Corner Harmans South & Miamup Roads, Wilyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 5539 www.bettenaysmargaretriver.com.au
Bramley Wood Voyager Estate, Gnarawary Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 6358 www.bramleywood.com
Briarose Estate Bussell Highway, Augusta, WA 6290 08 9758 4160 www.briarose.com.au
Brookland Valley Vineyard Caves Road, Wilyabrup, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6042 www.brooklandvalley.com.au
[email protected]
Brookwood Estate Lot 10 Treeton Road Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5604 www.brookwood.com.au
[email protected]
Broomstick Estate Brooks Road, Forest Grove, WA 6286 08 9757 7777 www.broomstick.com.au
[email protected]
Brown Hill Estate Corner Barrett & Rosa Roads, Rosa Brook, WA 6285 08 9757 4003 www.brownhillestate.com.au
[email protected]
Cape Grace Wines Lot 3 Fifty One Road, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5669 www.capegracewines.com.au
[email protected]
Cape Lavender Carter Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 7552 www.capelavender.com.au
[email protected]
Cape Mentelle Vineyards Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 0888 www.capementelle.com.au
[email protected]
Cape Naturaliste Vineyard 1 Coley Road (entrance off Caves Road), Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2538 www.capenaturalistevineyard.com.au
[email protected]
Capel Vale Wines Lot 5 Stirling Estate, Mallokup Road, Capel, WA 6271 08 9727 1986 www.capelvale.com
[email protected]
Carbunup Crest Loc. 2850 Yelverton Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 7775 www.carbunupcrest.com.au
[email protected]
Casas Rosa Brook Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 4542 www.casas.com.au
[email protected]
Cavalier Crest Wines Loc. 3795 Davis Road, Rosa Glen, WA 6285 08 9757 5091 www.cavaliercrest.com.au
[email protected]
Celestial Bay 256 Metricup Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 7021 www.celestialbay.com.au
Chalice Bridge Estate RMB 216 Rosa Glen Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 5089 www.chalicebridge.com.au
[email protected]
Chapman Grove Lot 2779 Brooks Road, Rosa Glen, WA 6285 08 9757 7444 www.chapmangrove.com.au
[email protected]
Churchview Estate Corner Bussell Highway & Gale Road, Metricup, WA 6280 08 9755 7200 www.churchview.com.au
[email protected]
Clairault Wines Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6225 www.clairaultwines.com.au
[email protected]
Clown Fish Wines 9 Bussell Highway, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5501 www.cowaramupwines.com.au
[email protected]
Cullen Wines Caves Road, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5277 www.cullenwines.com.au
[email protected]
Deep Woods Estate Lot 889 Commonage Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9756 6066 www.deepwoods.com.au
[email protected]
Devil's Lair Wines Rocky Road, PO Box 212, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 7573 www.devils-lair.com
Driftwood Estate 3314 Caves Road, Willyabrup WA 6280 08 9755 6323 www.driftwood-winery.com.au
Eagle Vale 7087 Caves Road, Margaret River WA 6285 08 9757 6477 www.eaglevalewine.com
[email protected]
Edwards Wine Corner Caves & Ellensbrook Roads, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5999 www.edwardswines.com.au
[email protected]
Evans & Tate Metricup Road (corner of Caves Road), Willyabrup, WA 6285 08 9755 6244 www.evansandtate.com.au
Feet First Wines 32 Parkinson Lane, Kardinya, WA 6163 08 9314 7133 www.feetfirstwines.com.au
[email protected]
Fermoy Estate Metricup Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6285 www.fermoy.com.au
[email protected]
Fire Gully Farm and Vineyard Metricup Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6220  
Firetail Corner Bessell & Rosa Glen Roads, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 5156 www.firetail.com.au
[email protected]
Flinders Bay Bussell Highway, Metricup, WA 6280 08 9755 7103 www.flindersbaywines.com.au
[email protected]
Flying Fish Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6600 www.flyingfishcove.com
[email protected]
Forester Estate 1064 Wildwood Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2788 www.foresterestate.com.au
[email protected]
Fraser Gallop Estate 547 Metricup Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 7553 www.frasergallopestate.com.au
[email protected]
Frazer Woods Wines 2856 Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6274  
Gherardi 292 Kevill Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 3142 www.gherardi.com.au
[email protected]
Gralyn Estate 4145 Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6285 08 9755 6245 www.gralyn.com.au
[email protected]
Green Valley Vineyards Lot 3137 Sebbes Road, Fors, WA 6285 08 9757 7510 www.greenvalleyvineyard.com.au
[email protected]
Growers Lot 392 Wildwood Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2121 www.thegrowers.com
[email protected]
Hamelin Bay McDonald Road, Karridale, WA 6288 08 9758 6779 www.hbwines.com.au
[email protected]
Happs and Three Hills 575 Commonage Road, Dunsborough, WA 6281 08 9755 3300 www.happs.com.au
[email protected]
Harman's Ridge Estate Winery 5 Harmans Mill Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 7444 www.harmansridge.com.au
[email protected]
Hay Shed Hill Harmans Mill Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6046 www.hayshedhill.com.au
[email protected]
Heron Lake Estate 604 Rendezvous Road, Vasse, WA 6280 08 9755 4293 www.heronlake.com.au
[email protected]
Hesperos Wines Corner Bussell Highway & West Calgardup Road, Witchcliffe, WA 6286 08 9757 6565 www.hesperoswines.com.au
Higher Plane Location 1077 Wintarru Rise, Forest Grove, WA 6285 08 9451 7277 www.higherplanewines.com.au
[email protected]
Howard Park - Margaret River Lot 2948 Miamup Road, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9756 5200 www.howardparkwines.com.au
Island Brook Estate Loc. 817 Bussell Highway, Metricup, WA 6280 08 9755 7501 www.islandbrook.com.au
[email protected]
Jarvis Estate 790 Wirring Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9758 7526 www.jarvisestate.com.au
[email protected]
Jerusalem Hollow Lot 13 Wallis Road, Witchcliffe, WA 6286 08 9339 6879 www.jersualemhollowwines.com.au
[email protected]
Jindong Moon 345 Payne Road, Jindong, WA 6280 08 9755 4331 www.jindongmoon.com.au
[email protected]
Juniper Estate Harmans Road South, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 9000 www.juniperestate.com.au
[email protected]
Kailis - Margaret River Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 0417 963 769 www.kailiswines.com.au
[email protected]
Killerby Vineyards Minninup Road (via Lakes Road), Gelorup, WA 6230 08 9795 7222 www.killerby.com.au
[email protected]
Knee Deep Wines Lot 61 Johnson Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6776 www.kneedeepwines.com.au
[email protected]
Knotting Hill Estate Vineyard 247 Carter Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 7733 www.knottinghill.com.au
[email protected]
Laurance 3518 Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9750 4000 www.laurancewines.com
[email protected]
Leeuwin Estate Stevens Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9759 0000 www.leeuwinestate.com.au
[email protected]
Lenton Brae Wines PO Box 500, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9755 6255 www.lentonbrae.com
[email protected]
Maiolo Wines & Vineyard Bussell Highway, Carbunup River, WA 6280 08 9755 1060 www.maiolowines.com.au
Margaret River Dreaming Lot 13 Wirring Road, Bramley, WA 6285 08 9758 7526 www.margaretriverdreaming.com.au
[email protected]
Marri Wood Park Caves Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 0438 525 580 www.margaretriver.com.au
[email protected]aretriver.com
Marybrook Vineyards & Winery Vasse-Yallingup Road, Marybrook, WA 6280 08 9755 1143  
McHenry Hohnen Winery Rocky Road, Witchcliffe, WA 6286 08 9757 7600 www.mchv.com.au
[email protected]
Merops Wines 5992 Caves Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 2537 www.meropswines.com.au
[email protected]
Minot Lot 4 Harrington Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 3579 www.margaretriver.com.au
[email protected]
Moaning Frog Wines Lot 12 Mannear Road, Rosa Brook, WA 6285 08 9757 4109 www.moaningfrog.com.au
Mongrel Creek Vineyard 109 Hayes Road, Yallingup Siding, WA 6282 0417 991 065  
Moss Brothers 3857 Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6270 www.mossbrothers.com.au
Moss Wood Winery Metricup Road, Willyabrup, WA 6284 08 9755 6266 www.mosswood.com.au
[email protected]
Naturaliste Vintners Corner Hairpin Road & Bussell Highway, Carbunup, WA 6280 08 9755 1188 www.naturalistevintners.com
[email protected]
Olsen Wines RMB 252 Osmington Road, Osmington, WA 6285 08 9757 4526 www.olsen.com.au
[email protected]
Palandri Wines Corner Bussell Highway & Boundary Road, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9756 5100 www.palandri.com.au
Palmer Wines 1271 Caves Road, Dunsborough, WA 6281 08 9756 7388 www.margaretriverwine.org.au
[email protected]
Peacetree Estate Lot 11 Harmans Road South, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 5170 www.peacetreeestate.com
[email protected]
Pennan Wines Yelverton Road, Margaret River, WA 6280 0409 562 132 www.pennanwines.com.au
Pierro Margaret River Vineyards Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6220 www.pierro.com.au
[email protected]
Plan B Wines Caves Road, Witchcliffe, WA 6285 0413 759 030 www.planbwines.com
[email protected]
Preveli Lot 99 Mitchell Drive, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 2374 www.preveliwines.com.au
[email protected]
Random Valley Organic Wines Lot 7 Brockman Highway, Karridale, WA 6288 08 9758 6707 www.randomvalley.com
[email protected]
Redgate Wines Corner Boodjidup Road & Caves Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 6488 www.redgatewines.com.au
[email protected]
Rivendell Wines Wildwood Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2090 www.rivendellwines.com.au
[email protected]
Rockfield Estate Vineyard Rosa Glen Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 5068 www.rockfield.com.au
[email protected]
Rosabrook Estate Rosabrook Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9478 5688 www.wineshack.com.au
[email protected]
Sandalford Wines 3210 West Swan Road, Caversham, WA 6055 08 9374 9374 www.sandalford.com
[email protected]
Sandstone Wines Corner Caves & Johnson Roads, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6271  
Saracen Estates 3517 Caves Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9322 6642 www.saracenestates.com.au
[email protected]
Serventy Organic Wine Rocky Road, Forest Grove, WA 6286 08 9757 7534 www.serventy.com
[email protected]
Settlers Ridge Organic Wines 54B Bussell Highway, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5883 www.settlersridge.com.au
[email protected]
Seven Ochres Vineyard 6 Cowrang Lane, Yallingup Siding, WA 6282 08 9755 2030 www.sevenochres.com.au
Shelton Wines PO Box 4132, Wembley, WA 6913 08 6380 1511 www.sheltonwines.com
Shenton Ridge Jamison Road, Jindong, WA 6280 08 9726 1284 www.shentonridge.com.au
Sienna Winery 12 Canal Rocks Roads, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2249 www.siennaestate.com.au
Stella Bella Wines Karridale Winery, Lot 101 Brockman Highway, Karridale, WA 6288 08 9758 8877 www.stellabella.com.au
[email protected]
Stellion RMB 256 Osmington Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 4069 www.stellionwines.com
[email protected]
Stonebrook Estate 1191 Vasse Yallingup Siding Road, Quindalup WA 6281 08 9755 1104 www.stonebrookestate.com
[email protected]
Swings & Roundabouts 2807 Caves Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9756 6640 www.swings.com.au
Swooping Magpie 860 Commonage Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 0417 921 003 www.swoopingmagpie.com.au
[email protected]
Tassell Park Wines 415 Treeton Road, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5440 www.tassellparkwines.com
[email protected]
Thompson Estate 299 Harmans Road South, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6406 www.thompsonestate.com
[email protected]
Tintagel Sebbes Road, Forest Grove, WA 6285 08 9389 5381 www.tintagelwines.com.au
[email protected]
Treeton Estate Lot 1 North Treeton Road, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5481 www.treetonestate.com.au
[email protected]
Tuart Street Wines PO Box 291, Bunbury, WA 6231 08 9721 4422 www.tuartstreet.com.au
Umamu Estate PO Box 1269, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 5058 www.umamuestate.com
[email protected]
Vasse Felix Corner Caves Road & Harmans Road South, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9756 5000 www.vassefelix.com.au
[email protected]
Vasse River Wines Bussell Highway, Carbunup, WA 6280 08 9755 1111 www.vasseriver.com.au
[email protected]
Victory Point Wines Lot 4 Holben Road, Cowaramup, WA 6284 08 9755 5628 www.victorypointwines.com
[email protected]
Virgin Block Vineyard Caves Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2394 www.virginblock.com
[email protected]
Voyager Estate Stevens Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 6354 www.voyagerestate.com.au
Watershed Premium Wines Corner Bussell Highway & Darch Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9758 8633 www.watershedwines.com.au
[email protected]
Were Estate 38 Wildberry Road, Wilyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6273 www.wereestate.com.au
[email protected]
Wildwood Valley Wildwood Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2120 www.wildwoodvalley.com.au
[email protected]
Willespie Harmans Mill Road, Willyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6248 www.willespie.com.au
[email protected]
Wills Domain Corner Abbey Farm and Brash Roads, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2327 www.willsdomain.com.au
[email protected]
Windance Estate 2764 Caves Road, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2293 www.windance.com.au
[email protected]
Windows Margaret River 4 Quininup Road (corner Caves Road), Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9755 2719 www.windowsmargaretriver.com
[email protected]
Wine by Brad PO Box 475, Margaret River, WA 6285 0409 572 957 www.winebybrad.com.au
[email protected]
Wise Vineyards Lot 4, 80 Eagle Bay Road, Eagle Bay, WA 6281 08 9756 8627 www.wisewine.com.au
Witchcliffe Estate Wickham Road, Witchcliffe, WA 6285 08 9757 6379 www.witchcliffe-estate.com.au
[email protected]
Woodlands Wines 3948 Caves Road, Wilyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 6226 www.woodlandswines.com
[email protected]
Woodside Valley Estate Lots 40-41 Corner Abbey Farm & Brash Roads, Yallingup, WA 6282 08 9345 4065 www.woodsidevalleyestate.com.au
[email protected]
Woody Nook Wines 506 Metricup Road, Wilyabrup, WA 6280 08 9755 7700 www.woodynook.com.au
[email protected]
Xanadu Wines Boodjidup Road, Margaret River, WA 6285 08 9757 2481 www.xanaduwines.com

More South West Australian Wine Regions

Quick Search